A Piece of Britain - award winning heritage by Hazle Ceramics
Royal
London 1
London 2
Classic 1
Classic 2
China Town

The Queen’s Biscuits

Click for full size

Introduction
From 1862 Alfred Romary baked at 26 Church Road in Tunbridge Wells, now Romary House. The Royal Warrant continued from Queen Victoria to Queen Elizabeth II, with a final batch for Prince Charles and Lady Diana’s wedding in 1981. Only this ceramic has the rich brown frontage with the 22 carat gold title, plus a unique store window and green foliage.

 E H Shepard from Winnie the Pooh and more illustrators designed Christmas tins such as the Victorian Pantiles here.

click for full size

Hazle Ceramics
The Queen’s Biscuits
Unique Prototype for LP30
on Tunbridge Wells
Added etched plaque with
Royal Arms and 22ct gold
Marilyn researched this for a Cyber Signing 3 painting

 With a 1500s oak frame, this facade is from the 1700s. The bakery was once in the basement with a shop above.

 The Romary woodcut bearing Queen Victoria’s Royal arms. Since her accession to the throne in 1837 they have not been changed by any monarch.

Tunbridge Wells Wafers
Alfred’s initial biscuits were his most famous and sold all over the world. Always made with butter, they were hand rolled to wafer thinness on cold marble surfaces. Most came in tins but the shop did sell bags of broken ones on Fridays. Their archives show a mahogany counter proudly displaying the Royal orders, walls lined with mirrors plus white cane chairs. Those are seen on the ceramic. Moving to Glasgow in the 1900s, the biscuits were not well suited for modern mass production.

£39.50 Worldwide
With Free Postage

Click to add to basket

 The Pantiles, named after clay paving from Queen Anne in 1700 after her son fell in mud, were replaced by stone slabs in 1800. This tree-lined, colonnaded area grew up near the spa spring found in 1606.

 The Lion and Unicorn have been on the Royal arms since King James I in 1603. Scotland has its own version of this.

 Victoria, with John Brown behind, before her Romary’s visit two months later in 1876.

Privacy Policy Blog   Currency Converter Links